As a professional bat removal company, we get a lot of questions about rabies vaccinations. When does your dog or cat need them? The short answer is, rabies vaccinations vary from state to state.
We’ve heard a lot of sad stories about our customers pets having to be euthanized or quarantined due to contact with a bat infestation in their home. Cats are actually the most often euthanized. People don’t realize that just because your cat doesn’t go outside, they still have the potential for a rabies exposure.
Better safe than sorry, friends. To make it a little easier for everyone, we have put together a list of each state’s individual laws below. Simply click on your state to see the rabies vaccinations laws that pertain to you.
Arkansas Code Title 20 Public Health and Welfare §20-19-302 Code of Arkansas Rules and Regulations 007 00 CARR 025
Licensed veterinarian or agent of the Department of Health
Initial vaccination for dogs and cats at 4 months of age and older. Revaccinations during the 12th month after initial vaccination. Thereafter, the interval between revaccinations should conform to the Compendium*
An exemption may apply if a licensed veterinarian determines, on an annual basis, that a rabies vaccination would endanger the dog’s life due to disease or other considerations that the veterinarian can verify and document
Dogs must be vaccinated at 3 months of age and revaccinated one year after the primary immunization with an approved type of rabies vaccine. Dogs shall be revaccinated thereafter at least once every three years with an approved type of rabies vaccine.
When a licensed veterinarian has examined the animal, and determined that a rabies vaccination would endanger the animal’s life due to disease or other medical considerations
Dogs and cats at 3 months of age or older. Animals vaccinated prior to one year of age must receive a booster vaccination one year after the initial vaccination. Animals shall then be vaccinated every 3 years thereafter
If a licensed veterinarian has determined that vaccination would endanger the animal’s health because of its age, infirmity, disability, illness or other medical consideration, the animal may be exempt from vaccination requirements
Dogs, cats and ferrets at 4 months of age, with a booster shot 12 months later. Thereafter, the intervals between vaccinations must comply with the label of the vaccine used
Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. r. 40-13-2- .18 O.C.G.A. § 43- 50-3 O.C.G.A. § 31- 19-5
It is up to county boards of health to promulgate rules regarding rabies vaccinations. For dogs, cats and ferrets being imported into the state, they must be vaccinated at 12 weeks in accordance with the Compendium*
Maine Statutes Title 7 §3916 and Code of Maine Rules 1-144-260
Licensed veterinarian or under the direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian
Dogs and cats may be exempt from vaccination requirements if a medical reason exists and an owner has a written statement signed by a licensed veterinarian
Cats at 3 months, dogs at 6 months. Cats must be revaccinated one year after the initial vaccination and then according to the type of vaccine used. Dogs must be revaccinated according to the type of vaccine used
New Hampshire Statutes §436:99, §436:100 New Hampshire Admin Rules §2112.02
A rabies immunization exemption may be issued, where illness or a veterinary medical condition warrants, by the local rabies control authority upon the written recommendation of a licensed veterinarian
Dogs, cats, and ferrets at 3 months of age, with a booster shot between 9 and 12 months after the initial vaccination. Subsequent boosters as outlined in the Compendium*
New Jersey Statutes §4:19- 15.2a; Administrative Code §8:23A-4.1
Municipal dog licensing officials shall grant an exemption for any dog that a veterinarian certifies in writing to be incapable of being inoculated because of infirmity, other physical condition, or regimen of therapy
Dogs and cats 3 months of age or older receiving their first known immunization have a 1- year duration of immunity. Animals between 3 and 6 months of age receiving a second or subsequent booster have a 1-year duration of immunity. Animals 6 months or older receiving 2nd booster: 1 or 3 years’ immunity, depending on the vaccine used
North Carolina General Statutes §130A-185 North Carolina Administrative Code §41G.0101
Licensed veterinarian; A registered veterinary technician under the direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian; or a certified rabies vaccinator
Dogs, cats and ferrets at 4 months of age. Revaccination for dogs and cats one year later and then annually or triennially, depending on vaccine used. A dog or cat vaccinated by a certified rabies vaccinator shall be re-vaccinated annually
Ohio does not have a state-wide law requiring the vaccination of animals against rabies, except in certain situations. Ohio law requires that dogs that bite someone must be currently vaccinated against rabies before they are released from quarantine (http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/3701-3-29). Ohio law also requires that dogs and cats that are staying in Division of Parks and Recreation and Division of Forestry campgrounds must be currently vaccinated and display proof of rabies vaccination (http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/1501%3A41-9-10, http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/1501%3A3-3- 08).
Persons residing in Ohio are permitted to purchase and administer rabies vaccine to their own animals. However, this practice is highly discouraged.
Licensed veterinarian; veterinary technician under the direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian In the case of a need to vaccinate and the lack of an available veterinarian, by another person approved for this purpose by the State Public Health Veterinarian.
Exemptions are provided for dogs brought temporarily into the state for periods of less than 30 days and kept under strict supervision by their owners; dogs for which rabies immunization is contraindicated for health reasons, as determined by a licensed veterinarian; and dogs owned by dealers, breeders, or exhibitors exclusively for sale or exhibition purposes and confined to kennels except for transportation to and from dog shows or fairs
Dogs at least 3 months old shall be immunized against rabies by the age of 6 months in accordance with the Compendium*
Pennsylvania Statutes Title 3 Chapter 7A §455.8 Pennsylvania Rules Title 7 §16.41, §16.42, §16.43
Licensed veterinarian, or under direct veterinary supervision Owners of commercial kennels, dealer kennels, nonprofit kennels, private kennels and research kennels who have been examined and certified by the department may administer rabies vaccines to animals in the possession of the kennel
An exemption may be granted for up to one year if a licensed veterinarian examines the dog or cat and determines that it would be medically contraindicated to vaccinate. After one year, the dog or cat must be reexamined.
For dogs and cats, within 4 weeks of the animal reaching 3 months of age. Unless otherwise indicated by the directions of the vaccine manufacturer, a booster vaccination shall be administered between 12 and 14 months from the date of the initial vaccination, regardless of the age of the animal at initial vaccination. The animal shall then be subsequently revaccinated on an ongoing basis in accordance with the directions of the vaccine manufacturer
Licensed veterinarians, or non-veterinarians only under the direct supervision of a veterinarian, and only after the veterinarian has properly established a veterinarian client-patient relationship Exception: A veterinarian employed by a county or municipality, and administers (or supervises administration of) rabies vaccines as part of a rabies control program established by a county or municipality, is not required to establish a VCPR before administering a rabies vaccine or supervising the administration of a rabies vaccine.
Dogs and cats at 4 months of age. The veterinarian has discretion on subsequent vaccinations as long as the due date does not exceed recommended intervals for booster vaccination as established by manufacturers or any local ordinance requirements
Vermont Statutes Title 20 Part 8 §3581 Code of Vermont Rules §20-022-018
Licensed veterinarians, or under the direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian
An animal may be exempt from vaccination requirements if, in the judgment of the veterinarian, the animal’s medical condition would prevent the development of adequate immunity to rabies. Animals so exempted must be inoculated against rabies as soon as their medical condition permits
Dogs, cats, and ferrets prior to 4 months. Thereafter, in accord with manufacturer’s recommendations
Licensed veterinarians, or a veterinary technician under the immediate and direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian
The local health director, in consultation with the state public-health veterinarian, may grant an exemption if vaccination would likely endanger the animal’s life due to a previously diagnosed disease or documented medical considerations, as documented by a licensed veterinarian.
Initial vaccination for dogs and cats: 4 months of age and older. Then subject to local ordinance
Licensed veterinarian or his or her assistant. If there is no licensed veterinarian practicing in the county, a qualified person may be appointed by the county health department to administer vaccinations
Dogs and cats by 6 months, with a booster shot after one year. Subsequent vaccinations every 3 years
Licensed veterinarian; or Veterinary technician if a veterinarian is physically present at the location the vaccine is administered
A city, village, or town may exempt the owner of a dog from the requirement to have the dog vaccinated against rabies for a year based on a letter from a veterinarian stating that vaccination is inadvisable because of a reaction to a previous vaccination, a physical condition, or a regimen of therapy that the dog is undergoing
Dogs at 5 months of age with a one-year booster vaccination and then triennially thereafter
August 27, 2017 |
A bat was found flying in my house during the night it was removed outdoors do I need to worry it will return it has been two weeks and I sleep with the fans and lights on should I be concerned
August 28, 2017 |
That's impossible to tell you based off the information I have. I would suggest you perform a bat watch to see if any fly out of your home at dusk. If you have an infestation, then yes you should be concerned. If it was a stray bat that got lost, its most likely not interested in a repeat performance.